Syphilis

What is syphilis?

Syphilis is a sexually transmitted infection (STI) that can cause serious harm if not treated with medication. Many individuals infected with syphilis show no symptoms. Those who do have symptoms can:

  • have a sore or a pimple that is painless, generally found on the genitals, the mouth or the tongue;
  • have a skin eruption (pimples on the body);
  • have swollen lymph glands;
  • have a fever or feel discomfort.

These symptoms disappear without treatment, but the syphilis infection remains dormant in the body. It is therefore very important to undergo treatment. Individuals who are not treated for syphilis risk serious health problems in the future (loss of sight, paralysis, cardiac lesions and even death).

Syphilis is particularly dangerous for unborn children, in the case of a pregnant women getting infected. Syphilis causes malformations that interfere with the child’s development and which can result in a handicap (mental or physical) or the baby’s death.

How do you get infected with syphilis?

Syphilis is spread through vaginal, anal or oral sexual contact with an infected individual. Syphilis can also spread from an infected pregnant woman to her unborn baby.

Can syphilis be treated?

Yes, syphilis can be treated with medication (one or more injections). However, treatment does not cure the harm caused to babies or later damage to the brain or the heart. Syphilis generally does not disappear without medication.

Syphilis

Qu’est-ce que la Syphilis ?

La syphilis est une infection transmissible sexuellement (ITS) qui peut causer de graves dommages si elle n'est pas traitée avec des médicaments. De nombreuses personnes atteintes de syphilis ne présentent aucun symptôme. Les personnes ayant des symptômes peuvent :

  • avoir une plaie ou bouton indolore, généralement sur les organes génitaux, la bouche ou la langue
  • avoir une éruption cutanée (boutons sur le corps)
  • avoir des ganglions lymphatiques enflés
  • avoir de la fièvre ou ressentir des malaises

Ces symptômes disparaîtront sans traitement, mais la syphilis restera endormie dans le corps. Il est donc très important de recevoir un traitement. Les personnes qui ne sont pas traitées pour la syphilis risquent d’avoir de graves problèmes de santé dans le futur (cécité, paralysie, lésions cardiaques, voire même la mort).

La syphilis est particulièrement dangereuse pour les enfants à naître, lorsqu'une femme enceinte est infectée. La syphilis provoque des malformations qui interfèrent avec le développement de l'enfant et qui peuvent entraîner un handicap (mental ou physique), ou la mort du bébé.

Comment attrape-t-on la syphilis ?

La syphilis se transmet par relations sexuelles vaginales, anales ou orales avec une personne infectée. La syphilis peut également être transmise d'une femme enceinte infectée à son bébé à naître.

Peut-on soigner la syphilis ?

Oui, la syphilis peut être traitée avec des médicaments (une ou plusieurs injections). Cependant, le traitement ne guérit pas les dommages chez les bébés ou les dommages tardifs au cerveau ou au cœur. La syphilis ne disparaît généralement pas sans médicament.